Buffalo Chicken Dip

Standard

I had a holiday party a few weekends ago at my apartment and I wanted to make something that I haven’t made before.  I have heard about Buffalo Chicken dip before so I decided I was going to make it for the party.  I love anything Buffalo flavored; chips, almonds, wings, etc.  After searching the web for recipes I decided to take a piece of each recipe and create my own.

A lot of the recipes I saw online called for canned chicken.  I have never heard of canned chicken and the thought of it makes me sick.  I used fresh chicken breasts and just boiled them and once they were cool I shredded them with my hands.  Another common ingredient I saw was ranch dressing; another thing I am not a fan off along with mayo.  I always enjoy blue cheese with Buffalo wings so I decided to add that to the dip instead.  I had some scallions left over from another dip I made for the party so I added that to the dip to.

I mixed all the ingredients together and then cooked it in the oven for about 30 minutes.  Right before the party started I transferred the mixture to the mini-Crock Pot I have which kept it warm all night. If you don’t have a small Crock Pot, leave the dip in the baking dish.

Ingredients

Pre-heat the oven to 350°

  • 2-3 boneless and skinless chicken breasts, boiled and shredded
  • 1 8 oz package of cream cheese, softened
  • 1/2 cup of Franks Hot Sauce
  • 1/2 cup blue cheese dressing
  • 1 package of shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1/2 cup scallions, chopped (optional)

Combine all ingredients in a medium-sized bowl and mix until well blended.

Pour mixture into a small baking dish. Bake in the oven for 30-40 minutes or until the edges begin to bubble and the top becomes browned.

One response »

  1. This sounds rather tasty! I am not always a fan of Hot Sauce, however, mixing it with the blue cheese, chicken, etc. sounds a like a nice way to get a kick and full flavor! I may try this for a Kiwi Cook-Out I am said to attend soon. Thanks Adam!

Leave a Reply

