Farfalle Pasta with Chicken and Pesto

Standard

I have been meaning to post this recipe for about a month now but I have been distracted with other things going on. I received this recipe via text from my friend Kasey.  Our text conversation started because she was asking me how I was doing and she told me what she made for dinner.  I responded that sounded delicious and then she suggested that we swap recipes. She then sent me a recent recipe she had made with pasta and pesto.  It sounded really easy to make and more importantly it is very healthy with good carbs and protein.  I was in the middle of my month-long boot camp class and decided this meal will be perfect to gain strength and replenish muscle.  It calls for pine nuts, but I forgot to put them on my grocery order.  Also to save time, I bought the chicken already cut up for stir fry.

Ingredients

  • 1 box/package farfalle pasta (bow tie)
  • 1 small jar basil pesto
  • 2 lbs chicken breast, chopped into cubed pieces
  • 2-3 handfuls sun-dried tomatoes
  • 3/4 cup pine nuts (optional)
  • 1 lb fresh spinach, uncooked
  • 2-3 tbs olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste

    In a large skillet, heat 2-3 tablespoons of olive oil on medium heat. Salt and pepper the chicken and cook until golden brown.

    To save time and water, put the sun-dried tomatoes in the boiling pasta water to soften them up.

After pasta is cooked, mix in the same pan as chicken with pesto, sun-dried tomatoes and if you toasted them, pine nuts.

 

Toss in uncooked spinach. The heat from the pasta and chicken will cook the spinach.

Leave a Reply

