Turkey Burgers and Summer Squash

Standard

Turkey burger with summer squash.

I was inspired to make this meal from my friend Kasey’s text.  She said that she was making turkey burgers with sliced tomatoes, avocado, and goat cheese with grilled zucchini. Since I live in the city and don’t have access to a grill I had to make this in my kitchen.  I decided to add yellow summer squash to the zucchini to make it more colorful and to add some more flavor. I have been in a boot camp this month and this meal fit well into the diet I am trying to maintain; high protein and fiber and good carbs.  I used a whole wheat bun for the turkey burger and smeared a little Dijon mustard on it.  Turkey burgers are easy to make and you can use whatever flavoring you prefer; I used salt, pepper, garlic powder, oregano, and a little bit of red pepper flakes to add some heat.  Click on the “read the rest of this entry” link to find out how I made the squash.

Ingredients

  • 2 zucchini, sliced
  • 2 yellow summer squash, sliced
  • 1/2 medium onion, chopped
  • 4 cloves garlic, chopped
  • olive oil
  • salt and pepper
  • Herbes de Provence, or use herbs you have available

In a large skillet heat olive oil on medium. Add zucchini, squash, garlic, onion, salt and pepper, and herbs and cook, stirring occasionally.

Squash should look almost translucent when finished cooking. Make sure you cook off the extra water from the squash before serving; about 20 minutes cooking time total.

Leave a Reply

