Carrot Risotto

Standard
Carrot Risotto with Balsamic chicken.

Last week I had some chicken that I needed to cook. I decided to bake it in the oven with Balsamic vinegar.  I needed a side to go with it and I remembered that I had this quick and easy risotto recipe that my friend Flora tore out for me from Fitness Magazine. Since this recipe is replacing the Arborio rice and using orzo, the cooking time is cut in half. The result was just as creamy and smooth as traditional risotto and it went well with the Balsamic chicken I made.   This recipe was featured in an article from the June 2011 issue about healthy summer meals, but this risotto can be enjoyed anytime of the year.

Ingredients 
  • 4 garlic cloves
  • 4 medium carrots, peeled and cut into 1-inch pieces
  • 2 tbs extra-virgin olive oil
  • 8 oz orzo
  • 3 cups low-sodium chicken broth
  • 1/4 tsp salt plus additional to taste

 

Finely chop garlic in a food processor. Add carrots and pulse into 1/4 to 1/2-inch pieces.

Heat 1 tbs olive oil in a medium saucepan over medium heat. Add orzo and stir until golden brown. About 3 minutes.

 

Add the carrot mixture and stir to blend.

 

Pour in 3 cups broth and 1/4 tsp salt and bring to a boil.

 

Simmer over low heat until orzo is tender and broth is absorbed; about 12 minutes.

 

Leave a Reply

