MONTRÉAL

Standard

My year of travel continued during 4th of July weekend in Montréal, Québec.  Montréal is a fun city and I recommend visiting if you get the chance.  There is a very interesting mix of European charm with the vibrancy of being a large North American city.  Although there is a strong French influence in the cuisine in Montréal, there were two things I had there that I thought were unique to Montréal.

Saturday, July 2, 2011

After a night of drinking, we decided to La Banquise, a place locals say have the best Poutine.  Poutine is French fries covered with fresh cheese curd and brown gravy.  We ordered two plates, the traditional poutine and a poutine with peppers, onions and bacon.

Traditional Poutine from La Banquise. Photo courtesy of wikipedia.com

 Sunday, July 3, 2011

I read about something called the Montréal-style bagel online and in tour guides before my trip.  I’m not a huge fan of bagels but I would have to say that being a New Yorker, ours are the best. That was until I got a bagel in Montréal.  The taste is similar to a NY bagel but the only difference is the thickness.  Montréal bagels are very thin and not as doughy as the NY style bagels. We went to the famous Fairmount Bagel. I had an “all dressed” bagel (everything) with cream cheese.

All dressed bagel with cream cheese. Photo courtesy of diningdetour.com.

Leave a Reply

