Curried Chicken and Chickpea Stew

Standard

My coworker and I are always talking about food and letting each other try things that we have made at home.  A few weeks ago she gave me a jar of spicy Jamaican curry.  It has a mixture of curry with Jamaican Jerk and there is also a hint of cinnamon.  After thinking about to make with it, I decided to break out the Crock Pot one more time and make a stew.  I made it similar to an Indian dish with red lentils, chickpeas, mushrooms and tomatoes.  I added more seasoning to the stew after it had been cooking for about 4 hours to really make the flavor intense and spicy and served it over a brown wild rice.  This made recipe had a large yield that I had lunch and dinner for about 3 days. If you don’t have the seasoning or can’t find something similar in the store you can make the same flavor with ground cumin, chili powder, allspice, and a little bit of cinnamon.

Ingredients

  • 2 cans chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 10 oz mushrooms, sliced
  • 2 cups red lentils
  • 1 small onion, roughly chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 28 oz can whole tomatoes
  • 1 lb chicken breasts, cubed
  • 4 cups water
  • 4-5 tbs Jamaican curry powder

Add chickpeas to the bottom of the Crockpot.

Add mushrooms.

Add lentils.

Add onions and garlic.

Add tomatoes.

Add chicken.

Add curry and water.

Stir all together and turn Crockpot on low for 7-8 hours.

After done cooking, turn off Crockpot and serve stew over rice.

One response »

  1. I tried out this recipe but used whatever I had in the house… so chicken was substituted with tofu, and mushrooms with carrots. I let it simmer for about 2 hours in a large pot. I don’t own a crock pot (yet) but this recipe inspired me to buy one on ebay today. The curry is delicious and now my whole house smells like cinnamon and cumin. Yummy!

Leave a Reply

