Whole Wheat Pasta with Chicken Sausage and Fresh Vegetables

Standard

One night last week I was stumped on what to make for dinner.  I wanted to make something healthy and satisfying.  I know that pasta is a good carb but I wasn’t in the mood for a red sauce.  I decided to saute some fresh vegetables and boil some whole wheat spaghetti and toss them together with a little olive oil.  I also wanted to add a healthy protein so when I was at Whole Foods I bought Italian style chicken sausage.  This recipe made so much food I had dinner for four days.  This throw-together meal was so tasty that I decided to make it again this week.

Ingredients

  • 1 lb (1 package) whole wheat pasta (spaghetti or linguine)
  • 1 package chicken sausage
  • 1 cup pitted kalamata olives
  • 1/2 large red pepper, chopped
  • 10 oz sliced mushrooms
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 2 tbs capers
  • 2 lbs fresh spinach
  • olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste

 

In a large frying pan, heat the olive oil over medium heat. Add all ingredients minus the spinach and cook until mushrooms are golden brown; about 8 to 10 minutes.

Add the spinach and cook until wilted; will take about 5 minutes.

 

When the spinach is cooked. Turn off heat and then toss in cooked pasta.

Leave a Reply

