Non-Mayo Tuna Salad

Standard

I am not a fan of mayonnaise; so I am always trying to find alternatives to recipes that call for mayo.  My friend from work Katie turned me on to making tuna salad with olive oil instead of mayo and now I make it all the time.  The last time I was in Florida my brother was making tuna for lunch and I told  him to try the olive oil instead of mayo.  He liked it so much that he texted me a couple of weeks ago telling me that he made tuna salad this way and said I should make a blog entry with this method. There is no exact recipe; you can flavor it how you want but I will give you the new way I make tuna salad.

Ingredients

  • 1 can albacore tuna, drained
  • 2-3 tbs olive oil
  • 2 tbs capers
  • 1/4 cup chopped red pepper
  • 1 tsp any fresh or dried herb, I use dried basil
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • salt and pepper to taste

Leave a Reply

