Chicken Chili

Standard

I made this recipe a few weeks ago but I haven’t had the time to post it until now.  Once again I used the Crockpot for this and the results were delicious.  I didn’t follow anyone’s recipe for this particular chili; I just used my memory of chili that I have eaten in the past and made this recipe come together. Originally I intended to make this with ground turkey, but there wasn’t any available at the store when I went to buy the ingredients so I opted for ground chicken.  This chili was fairly easy to make and the chicken was the only ingredient to cook before putting everything into the Crockpot. To make this recipe vegetarian/vegan, just simply exchange the chicken for more beans.

Ingredients

  • 1 1/4 lbs ground chicken or turkey
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1 1/2 cup frozen corn
  • 1 15 oz can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 15 oz can kidney beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 16 oz jar of any type of salsa
  • 1 28 oz can crushed tomatoes
  • 1 8 oz can tomato sauce
  • 2 tsp chili powder
  • 2 tsp ground cumin
  • 2 tsp olive oil

 

On medium heat, heat 2 tsp of olive oil and cook ground chicken, onion and garlic until chicken is throughly cooked.

Once chicken is cooked, pour it into the bottom of the Crockpot.

 

Add the beans to the pot.

Add the corn to the pot.

 

Pour in salsa, tomatoes and tomato sauce.

Finally add the spices.

Stir all ingredients together. Turn Crockpot on to high and let cook for 4-5 hours.

Leave a Reply

