Escarole and Bean Soup

Standard

Since I am always inquiring recipes from different people, my friend’s mom who reads the blog gave me this recipe along with a few others. When I saw this recipe, I thought it seemed very simple and not too time-consuming to make but the ingredients would yield a great flavor. I changed the original recipe to fit my tastes as well as what I could find in the store. I couldn’t find escarole in the store so I decided to use kale which is very similar and also a very healthy alternative. Whole Foods was sold out off the cannellini beans so I opted for black-eyed peas.  The original also called for bacon and I decided to make the soup healthier by using turkey bacon instead.  The lesson here is that you don’t have to sacrifice flavor by using healthier alternatives for ingredients.

Ingredients

  • 1/4 lb bacon (turkey bacon)
  • 1 lb chopped escarole (kale)
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 qt chicken broth
  • 1 15 oz can cannellini beans, drained and rinsed (any type of beans will work here)
  • salt, pepper, red pepper flakes to taste

 

Cook the bacon in a large stock pot for about 5 minutes. Discard excess fat if you use regular bacon.

Add greens and garlic and cook for about 3 minutes or until the greens wilt.

Add the chicken broth and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer for 5-10 minutes.

Mash half of the beans with a fork. Add beans salt, pepper and red pepper flakes to the pot. Cook on low heat for about 10 minutes.

Leave a Reply

