Coq Au Vin

Standard

Last week I decided to use my Macy’s gift cards that I received as Christmas gifts on stuff that I have been wanting to get for the kitchen.  I got a deep frying pan with a glass lid that was on sale for $19.99 and a Crockpot that was also on sale for $29.99.  I have heard stories from different people how much a Crockpot is one of the best investments they made and now that I have one it’s true.  Put everything in the ceramic pot turn it on low and by the time you come home from a long day at work dinner is done.

The first meal I wanted to make was the classic French stew Coq au Vin, which translates to chicken with wine.  I had a basic idea on how to make this stew but I decided to read a few online recipes to get a consensus on the basic ingredients.  A lot of recipes call for bacon but since I had turkey bacon left over from another recipe I used that which actually makes it healthier.   I prepped everything the night before so I didn’t have to worry about putting it together before I went to work.  I just had to take the ceramic pot out of the fridge, set it in the warmer and turn it on.

Ingredients

  • 8 chicken legs + 3 chicken wings
  • 3-4 strips bacon (turkey bacon), cook until crispy, chop into pieces
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 4 stalks celery, chopped
  • 2 cups baby carrots
  • 1 10 oz package sliced mushrooms
  • 8 pearl onions, peeled
  • 1 6 oz can tomato paste
  • 1 can chicken broth
  • 2 cups red wine (any red will do)
  • 2 tbs butter
  • 2-3 sprigs fresh thyme
  • 2-3 bay leaves
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 tbs flour added to warm water, add once all cooked to thicken sauce

 

Coat the chicken with olive oil and salt and pepper.

After the bacon is cooked, chop it up and layer the bottom of the ceramic Crockpot.

In a large frying pan, cook the chicken until browned on both sides on medium heat.

Remove the chicken from the pan and reduce heat to low. Add the tomato paste and about 1/4 cup of the wine and cook until simmering.

While the tomato paste is simmering, layer the chicken on top of the bacon in the Crockpot.

Layer the vegetables over the chicken.

Once tomato paste is simmering, remove from heat and evenly pour over the vegetables in the Crockpot.

Pour in the rest of the wine and add the thyme and bay leaves.

Place the lid and turn on the Crockpot at low and let the stew cook for 8 hours.

About 10 minutes before you are ready to turn off the heat, mix the flour with some warm water and stir into the Crockpot. This will help thicken the stew.

One response »

Leave a Reply

