Stuffing

Standard

Most people have their own version of homemade stuffing and claim theirs is the best and as long as the stuffing isn’t Stove Top then I will most likely eat it.  This recipe has been passed down from my grandma to my mom and then to me.  I remember my brother and I helping make this stuffing when we were little; after toasting the bread we would break it into little pieces.  I have been making Thanksgiving dinner since I have moved to New York and I always use this recipe because I like the flavor and it also reminds me of Thanksgiving growing up.  My grandma used a “secret” ingredient to keep the stuffing moist but I didn’t add it this year because I wasn’t sure if people would be allergic.  She would add oysters to the stuffing; chopped them up really fine and mix them in with the rest of the stuffing. It sounds disgusting but after the stuffing is cooked the flavor of the oysters are hidden.

Ingredients

  • 1-2 loaves of whole wheat bread, toasted and broken into pieces
  • 1 onion, chopped,
  • 3-4 stalks celery, chopped
  • 1/2 green pepper, chopped
  • 1 egg
  • 1-2 cups of milk (1 cup per loaf of bread)
  • 4 tbs ground sage
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • oysters, chopped (optional)

 

Once the bread is toasted and broken up into pieces, add egg, milk and spices and mix together with your hands until combined.

Add chopped vegetables to the bowl and mix in to the bread mixture with your hands. If the mixture is too dry add more milk.

Once everything is combined stuff it into the bird. Any stuffing that won't fit into the bird cook in a separate baking dish for about 30 minutes after the turkey comes out of the oven.

One response »

  1. My mother grew up in a small town in Kansas, and her father always demanded oyster stuffing for the Thanksgiving turkey! Had to be canned oysters, but it never sounded appetizing to me. I have read that oysters make the stuffing moist, and your recipe sounds great!

Leave a Reply

