Roasted Red Pepper Soup

Standard

Last weekend I went for a late lunch at popular restaurant called The Coffee Shop in Union Square.  Their soup of the day was a roasted red pepper soup similar to a tomato basil soup. I decided to order the soup and as I was eating it I knew that I could make something that tasted better and immediately thought of how I was going to make this soup.  I knew I was going to base this recipe off my tomato basil soup but substitute the tomatoes with roasted red peppers.  The antipasti bar at Whole Foods was out of the roasted red peppers so I bought a jar of roasted red pepper and I also roasted three peppers in the oven.

Ingredients

Preheat oven to 400° F.

  • 2 tbs olive oil
  • 1 tbs sea salt
  • 2 tsp pepper
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 tbs unsalted butter
  • 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper flakes (optional)
  • 3 large red peppers
  • 1 jar or roasted red peppers or 3 large peppers from the antipasti bar
  • 1 tsp fresh or dry thyme leaves
  • 1 qt chicken stock or water (to make it vegetarian)

Cut and seed peppers. Put them in a large roasting pan and sprinkle them with salt and pepper. Broil them in the oven for about 45 minutes.

 

Fill a large stock pot with onions, garlic, olive oil, butter, salt, pepper, red pepper flakes, and thyme and sauté over medium heat for 10 minutes or until onions are browned.

Add chicken stock and the roasted red peppers to the pot and bring to a boil.

After 45 minutes, take peppers out of the oven.

Add the peppers from the oven to the stock pot. Bring to a boil again and turn down heat. Let mixture simmer for about 30 minutes.

 

Turn off heat and blend with emulsion blender until mixture is creamy.

Leave a Reply

