Lentil and Barley Stew

Standard

Last week I was going through a few cookbooks that belonged to my grandma that I took after she passed away.  She has a lot of clippings of random recipes from newspapers and magazines stuffed into each book.  I was flipping through them to find a new meal to make and I happened to find a recipe in there from The Detroit News on October 17, 1979!

The clipping I found for this recipe has an unknown source and date.  I love lentils and I knew I wanted to make this stew after reading the ingredients.   It seemed simple enough; cooking onions and boiling chicken stock and adding lentils. This time of year is perfect for making hearty soups and stews.  I think the next time I make this I will cut the amount of carrots in half and omit the barley and add more lentils.

Ingredients

  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 cups carrots, chopped
  • 1 qt chicken stock
  • 1 28 oz can chopped tomatoes
  • 1 cup lentils
  • 1/2 cup barley
  • 2 tbs ground cumin
  • 2 tbs ground cinnamon
  • 2 tbs olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste

In a large soup pot, heat the olive oil over medium heat. Add chopped onions, garlic and carrots and a little bit of salt and pepper and cook for about 10 minutes then add cumin and cinnamon.

 

Once onions and carrots are cooked, add the lentils, chicken stock and tomatoes and bring to a boil.

 

Once mixture is at a boil, reduce the heat and add barley.

 

Let simmer partially covered for about one hour, stirring occasionally. It will become very thick because of the barley; feel free to add 1 cup of water to make it into more like a soup.

Leave a Reply

