Fettuccine with Low Fat Mushroom Cream Sauce

Standard

This is a recipe that I made up on my own using the cooking skills and knowledge I have. I decided to make a creamy sauce with white wine and instead of using sour cream or regular cream, I used Greek yogurt.  Greek yogurt is low in fat and calories and has a high protein level.  I attempted to make this last week and it was a semi-fail.  I had fat-free yogurt at home and when I added it to the pan it began to separate. I forgot that when you cook using dairy that you must have some fat in it or it will separate when it is heated.  I call it a semi-fail because although the consistency of the sauce was off the flavor was delicious.

My second attempt was last night.  This time I bought 2% Greek yogurt and I added a little bit of butter to the pan when I sautéed the onions and garlic. I was happy with the result; it tasted the same but more importantly the sauce was creamy.

Ingredients

  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 packages of sliced mushrooms, I used one mixture and one mini Portobello
  • 1 glass of white wine, any white wine you prefer
  • 1 7 0z container low-fat Greek yogurt (about 1/2 cup)
  • 1 lb package Fettuccine noodles, cooked
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 tbs olive oil
  • 2 tbs unsalted butter

 

Over medium heat, saute onions and garlic with butter, olive oil and salt and pepper. Cook until onions are translucent (about 10 minutes).


Once onions are cooked add mushrooms. Cook until mushrooms are wilted (5-10 minutes).

Add wine and cook until wine is reduced by half.

Stir in yogurt until well mixed.

Cook until sauce is a creamy mixture. Turn off heat and serve over cooked noodles.

Leave a Reply

