Lasagna with Italian Sausage

Standard

Ok, so I know I have been absent for a while.  Now that it is getting colder outside, I can start cooking again and using the oven.  Last night I made a classic that I love; tomato basil soup (click here for the recipe).  The idea for this lasagna came from my co-worker Jen.  About a month ago she was telling me how she made stuffed shells with sausage and white sauce.  I decided to take this idea and make it into lasagna.  I usually make my lasagna vegetarian with spinach but I thought using fresh Italian sausage would make it taste good.  I first made this version about three weeks ago and I liked it so much that I made it again last week when my friend Alex was in town for a visit.  I added a glass of red wine to the sauce the second time around.  The taste got better as the days went by and we ate the left overs. Lasagna is the perfect meal to make if you are thinking of making dinner for many people or to subdivide it into lunches to take to work or school.

Preheat the oven to 400° F.

Ingredients

  • 6 Italian sausages, uncased and mashed up
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 15 oz can tomato sauce
  • 15 oz fat-free Ricotta cheese
  • 1 lb lasagna noodles, boiled
  • 1 lb shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1 jar marinara sauce
  • olive oil
  • 1 glass red wine (optional)

 

 

Over medium heat, add olive oil, onion and garlic. Cook for about 5 minutes and add sausage.

Once sausage is throughly cooked, add tomato sauce and cook together for another 5 minutes. If you choose to use the red wine add it at the same time as the tomato sauce.

 

 

Add cooked sauce to bowl with Ricotta cheese and throughly mix together.

In a deep baking dish, cover the bottom with a thin layer of marinara sauce.

 

 

Make one layer of the cooked pasta over the marinara sauce.

 

 

Cover the pasta with a layer of Ricotta/sausage mixture.

  

 

Make next layer with mozzarella and Parmesan cheese.

Make three more layers of the pasta, sauce and cheese. Top off with the marinara sauce and mozzarella cheese.

Bake in the oven uncovered for 45 minutes or until the sauce is bubbling and the top is golden brown.

Remove from the oven and let cool for 10-15 minutes before serving.

 

Leave a Reply

