Firey Cajun Shrimp

Standard

This summer has been long and hot.  I have spent every weekend this summer at the Jersey Shore working on my tan and relaxing.  Going to the beach always reminds me of when my brother and I would go down to Florida and visit our grandma.  We would usually go down in the summer since we were out of school.  I remember the first time I had this dish was down in Florida after spending a day at the beach.  I am not sure where my grandma found this recipe but my brother must have been so hungry that he didn’t even peel the shrimp before he ate them.  My mom even has a side note on the copy of this recipe she made for me that mentions this is the recipe that my brother ate the shells.

When I was reviewing the recipe to see what ingredients I would have to buy to make this I noticed that it this is really easy to make and that I already had most of the ingredients in the kitchen.  The sauce is very nonspecific to shrimp that you could probably substitute any shellfish or seafood.  I made this a few weeks ago but I am finally posting it at the end of August.  This is the perfect recipe to round out the summer and to transition into fall.

Preheat oven to 400° F.

Ingredients

  • 3 lbs raw shrimp in their shells
  • 2 sticks butter, melted
  • 1/2 cup Worcestershire sauce
  • 4 tbs black pepper
  • 1 tsp ground rosemary
  • 2 tsp Tabasco sauce
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 4 lemons, 2 juiced 2 sliced

Melt butter in large bowl.

Mix all other ingredients in the bowl with butter, leaving shrimp and lemon slices aside.

Pour half of the sauce mixture in the bottom of a baking dish.

Arrange layers of shrimp over sauce. Leave 1 inch of headroom.

Pour remaining sauce over shrimp.

Layer lemon slices over shrimp.

Bake uncovered and stir one or two times until cooked through; 15 to 20 minutes.

Serve with sliced fresh French baguette.

Leave a Reply

