Fish Tacos

Standard

A few weeks ago my friend Lola asked me to put together a recipe for fish tacos and post it.  I’m sure there are hundreds of recipes for fish tacos all over the internet on food websites and blogs, but I decided to make fish tacos on my own without the help of an online recipe.  I took what I know and applied it to this recipe.

I used tilapia since it’s a very mild fish and as I stated before in another recipe it is inexpensive and takes on the flavors you cook it with.  The thought of a tomato based salsa with fish doesn’t sound too appetizing so I decided to make my mango salsa (click here to find the recipe) to go with it.  The mango salsa uses tropical fruits which also gives this dish a more summer feel.

I know it seems like I keep posting recipes that have a Mexican theme, but it is the middle of the summer and it seems like most people crave Mexican flavors when it is hot outside.  Plus the types of meals I am putting together don’t take much time to prepare, are on the lighter side as well as  low in fat and calories.

Ingredients

  • 1 lb fresh Tilapia ( you can also use fresh cod)
  • 2 cloves garlic. minced
  • 1/4 cup red onion, chopped (use any type of onion)
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 tbs olive oil

In a large sauce pan, heat olive oil over medium heat. Add onion and garlic and cook until translucent; about 5-10 minutes.

Cut the fish into medium-sized chunks. It will break down into smaller pieces once it is cooked.

Add fish and spices to the pan with the onions and garlic.

Throughly cook fish until it breaks down and has a white color; about 10 minutes. Turn off heat.

Heat tortillas in a dry, small frying pan until browned on each side.

Add cooked fish to tortilla and top with the mango salsa.

One response »

Leave a Reply

