Mexican Black Bean and Corn Salad

Standard

New York City as well as the East Coast is in the midst of a heat wave; 102° F temperatures and high humidity.  Although the heat has slowed down my cooking, I am still making food from scratch that doesn’t involve using heat.  As I was walking to the subway yesterday morning I thought of something that I could make that wouldn’t be hard and also filling.

I remembered this bean salad from my mom’s cookbook.  I have made it a few times but I couldn’t remember all the ingredients.  I forgot to write the recipe down before I left my apartment and I knew I wasn’t going home before I went to the store.  A couple of years ago I made this salad when I was living with my good friend Alex and she loved it so much she asked me to give her the recipe.  Since I couldn’t remember the exact ingredients I texted her to send me the recipe.  I had also texted my mom asking her to tell me the ingredients.  They both got back to me while I was in the store and with their help and my memory I purchased the ingredients I needed; some of them I had at home.

Once I got home I re-read the recipe and realized I forgot to buy red kidney beans.  I had two cans of the black beans already so I decided to make it work instead of walking back to the store.  I had bought a red onion and the recipe called for green onions but I feel the red onion gives more flavor.  The recipe also calls for something called Mexicorn (corn with bits of red and green pepper) but since Whole Foods doesn’t sell that, I decided to get a can of regular corn and chop up a fresh red pepper.   I added some fresh cilantro and fresh lime juice as well.  I personally like the way it turned out and when I make it again I will use my revised recipe but I will remember to add the red kidney beans.

Ingredients

  • 2 cans black beans
  • 1 can corn
  • 1/4 red onion, minced
  • 1/2 medium-sized red pepper, minced
  • 1/4 cup cilantro, chopped
  • juice of one half of lime
  • 3 tbs extra virgin olive oil
  • 3 tbs red wine vinegar
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 3 tbs cumin
  • salt and pepper to taste

Pour the beans and corn into a colander and drain and rinse. Put into a large bowl.

Finely mince the red onion.

Mince red pepper.

Add minced onion and red pepper to the bowl with corn and beans.

Add chopped cilantro, olive oil, vinegar, lime juice and spices into bowl and stir every thing together.

Serve at once or chill until ready to serve.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Vegetarian Taco Salad « Big Apple Bites

Leave a Reply

