Greek Inspired Pizza

Standard

Ever since I got the baking stone from Williams-Sonoma I have been obsessed with using it.  Every time I go to Whole Foods now I pick up the frozen whole wheat pizza dough.  Since the first pizza I made was more traditional I decided to make the second pizza with Greek flavors.  I got one can of artichoke hearts, pitted Kalamata olives and fresh feta cheese.  I wasn’t paying attention when I grabbed the feta cheese and I ended up getting a more traditional feta made with sheep’s milk instead of the cow’s milk feta most people are used to.  It ended up being a nice surprise because the flavor went nice with the artichokes and the olives.

Ingredients

Preheat oven to 500° F.  Allow baking stone to heat in oven for at least 30 minutes.

  • whole wheat pizza dough
  • 1/4 cup marinara sauce
  • 1 can artichoke hearts
  • 1 cup pitted Kalamata olives
  • olive oil
  • flour, to shape dough

Spread flour on a flat surface. Shape dough and brush a small amount of olive oil on the dough.

Spread the marinara sauce on the dough.

Chop the artichoke hearts and place on top, cut olives in half and crumble the feta cheese and sprinkle on the top.

Slide pizza onto the baking stone in the 500 degree oven.

Bake in the oven for 10-12 minutes until the crust is bubbly and golden brown.

 

One response »

Leave a Reply

