Chicken with Lemon and Rosemary

Standard

This is another recipe I created by using what I had available in the kitchen.  I bought the chicken, rosemary and lemons at the store with the idea of using them together.  I wanted to be a little more creative than just baking the chicken with lemon and rosemary; then I remembered that I had a bottle of Chardonnay in the fridge and decided to make a marinade with the wine and lemon.

I like the idea of making a meal out of what you have in the pantry/fridge.  A very tasty and sophisticated meal can come out of the simplest ingredients.  This dish was created with three basic flavors and it tasted like it was an expensive entrée at a restaurant.

Preheat the oven to 350°

Ingredients

  • 4 chicken breast, boneless and skinless
  • 3-4 springs fresh rosemary
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1/2 medium-sized onion, chopped
  • 1 glass of white wine
  • 2 lemons, juice of one
  • lemon zest
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste

In a large bowl place chicken breasts, olive oil, wine, lemon juice chopped garlic, chopped onion, chopped rosemary and salt and pepper. Allow chicken to marinade for about 15 minutes.

Pour contents of the bowl into a large skillet.

Cook on medium heat for about 10 minutes or until the liquid in the pan begins to boil.

Place contents in skillet into a baking dish. Zest a lemon on top then slice the lemon and place on top of chicken. Add 2 sprigs of rosemary. Bake in the preheated oven for 30 minutes.

Served with steamed broccoli and bulgur pilaf.

 

One response »

  1. I love lemon and rosemary together, so I found this dish to be delicious!!! I especially loved this dish because it didn’t require a lot of ingrediants! I also love how light it was. I felt satisfied after eating it, not full!

    I improvized the dish a little, by using angel hair pasta instead of orzo. I had some capers in the fridge, so I thought that would add a nice touch to the chicken as well.

    Overall this dish was very tasty, and gave a summer feel!

Leave a Reply

