Sangria

Standard

Since Memorial Day is the unofficial start of summer I am deciding to start posting things that I like to have during the hot summer months.  I have many posting in the works for summer entrées; salads, etc but I decided to start off with one of my personal favorite drinks to have when it’s warm outside.  I made this batch of Sangria for my birthday party in May but I decided to save the post to kick off the summer on the blog.  Sangria is very tasty and believe it or not, very inexpensive and easy to make. I am sure if you scour the internet you can find hundreds of recipes for Sangria with rum, brandy or some other strong liquor in it, but I like my recipe because it’s very simple and it tastes good.  This was a huge hit at my party and it was finished within a half hour of my guests showing up.

Ingredients

  • 2 bottles of cheap red wine, I used the three buck Chuck Syrah from Trader Joe’s
  • 2 apples, any type you want
  • 2 lemons
  • 2 oranges
  • 1 cup of hot water
  • 2 tbs sugar or agave nectar

Chop the apples into small pieces.

Cut the oranges into wedges.

Cut the lemons into wedges.

Dissolve the sugar or agave nectar in the hot water.

Pour the wine into a large pitcher. Squeeze the juice from the oranges and lemons into the wine and toss the wedges into the pitcher (excluding the seeds). Pour in the sweetened hot water. Finally add the apple pieces and stir everything together. Set in the refrigerator for about 24 hours before serving. Remove the orange and lemon wedges before serving.

One response »

  1. Try adding some brandy to your sangria recipe, and add sliced lemons with the oranges and apples! Let it sit over night and it tastes delicious!

    Or for another twist, try using sliced peaches without the skin, instead of apples. It’s very tasty!!!!

Leave a Reply

