Baked Chicken with Salsa and Cheese

Standard

Served with a seasoned wild rice and quinoa mix.

I got this recipe from my dad.  A couple of weekends ago when I was talking to my parents on the phone, my dad wanted to give me a recipe that he has made a few times.  He told me that he just used what was available in the kitchen and created a tasty meal.  That is what I try to reiterate on this blog; use these recipes as a foundation but if you are missing some of the ingredients use what you have available.  There is no sense in running out to the store to get one ingredient.

The nice thing about this recipe is that you can tailor it to your tastes.  My dad said he had a large jar of black bean and corn salsa in the pantry (that is the kind I bought at the store) but you can use any type of salsa you want.  I saw at Whole Foods that there were different types of salsa available like salsa with mango in it.  He used a bag of the shredded Mexican blend cheese.  I couldn’t find that at the store so I used a mix of Monterrey Jack and cheddar.  I think the key to this recipe is the fresh cilantro.  Cilantro is one of my favorite fresh herbs; it’s kind of like bacon–just makes things taste better.

Ingredients

Preheat oven to 375°

  • 4-6 skinless and boneless chicken breasts
  • 1 large jar of any type of salsa
  • 1 bag of shredded cheese
  • 1 bunch of fresh cilantro
  • Cajun seasoning (if you don’t have this available use Cayenne pepper or paprika)

Place the chicken breasts in a 9x13 baking pan and sprinkle the Cajun seasoning.

Cover the chicken breasts with the salsa.

Top the salsa layer with the shredded cheese.

Top with roughly chopped cilantro. Cover with foil.

Remove foil after about 15-20 minutes of being in the oven. Cook for another 20-30 minutes.

Pull out of the oven once the corners of the pan are bubbling.

Leave a Reply

