Chocolate Chip Icebox Cake

Standard

 

This recipe is a “passed down” recipe.  My grandmother was the first one to make this.  She got it in the late 1950’s when she belonged to a Canasta Club.  My mom eventually wrote it down for herself and then she made a copy of it for me.  The best part of this cake is that there is no baking involved unless you want to make the angel food cake yourself.  The ingredients are fairly simple as well. It’s basically a chocolate mousse layered with angel food cake.  My mom had an idea that if you wanted to be really creative for your guests and had enough time you could make individual “cakes” in parfait glasses. 

This was another recipe I made for my birthday party and again it was a hit! Half of it was gone before I had to wrap it up and put it back in the fridge.  My mom has a little not on the side of the copy she sent me that says: “uncle David loves this!”   She told me over the phone when I told her I made this that he can eat half of this cake.  I love chocolate, LOVE IT, but I couldn’t polish off half of this cake by myself. It’s extremely rich and a piece like the size in the photo above is the perfect serving. My suggestion would be to make this 24 hours before you serve to give the chocolate mousse to set. 

Ingredients 

  • 1 large angel food cake
  • 1 package of chocolate chips (I used semi-sweet)
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 pint whipping cream
  • 2 tbs of sugar or agave nectar (to sweeten the whipping cream)

Cut angel food cake in half. Set one half aside and the other half break into bit sized pieces.

 

Layer a 9x13 baking dish with the bite sized pieces.

 

Melt the package of chocolate over a double boiler. A double boiler is something housewives had in the 1950's and 1960's. I used a bowl and put it over a small sauce pan with boiling water. You can always melt the chocolate in the microwave.

 

Separate the three eggs and beat the three yolks with a fork.

 

With an electric mixer, beat the three egg whites into a meringue.

 

In a large bowl add the pint of whipping cream and the 2 tablespoons of sweetener and whip with an electric mixer.

 

Remove chocolate from heat and fold in the beaten egg yolks. Let cool for about 5 to 10 minutes.

 

Fold in the meringued egg whites. It's going to look weird and clumpy but that is what it is supposed to look like so don't worry that you are doing it wrong.

 

Fold in whipped cream. Fold until the whipped cream is completely combined with the chocolate mixture. If there are clumps still in the mixture after the whipped cream is folded in that is alright.

 

Pour half of the chocolate mixture over the cake pieces in the baking dish and cover completely.

 

Break the other half of the angel food cake into bite sized pieces over the top of the chocolate layer.

 

Cover completely with the rest of the chocolate mixture. Cover with aluminum foil and place in refrigerator for at least 12 hours before serving.

 

 

Leave a Reply

