Birthday Party

Standard

I just celebrated my 29th birthday this past Saturday (May 8th) and I decided to throw myself a party.  This gave me the perfect opportunity to make food for my friends; something that I have been wanting to do for a while.  I made some old staples like guacamole (with a new healthier twist) and artichoke dip and tried out some new recipes like the ginger-miso meat balls.  I also made sangria (which is easier than you think) and helped make a couple of pitchers of mojitos.

Everything was a hit and I really didn’t have any left overs which is what I didn’t expect because for a while there I was thinking that no one was going to show up and that all my efforts of prepping the night before and cooking the day of would have been a complete waste of time.  I will be posting the recipes and step by step photos of everything I put together.

Dishes from left to right counter-clockwise.

“Mockamole” — I used Bethenny Frankel’s recipe for guacamole for inspiration for my guacamole.  Make your favorite guacamole recipe but substitute half of the avocado with about 1 1/2 cup of frozen peas.  It makes the guacamole less fattening and gives it more fiber and no one can tell the difference, plus it stays green longer.  I told my friends that I used peas and they still couldn’t believe it.

Hummus, Armenian string cheese, smoked gouda, herb goat cheese and white cheddar, Ginger-Miso Meat Balls with a peanut sauce, Spinach Quiche bars, and Hot Artichoke Dip.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Sangria « Big Apple Bites

Leave a Reply

