Black-Eyed Pea Boom-Boom Salad

Standard

This is another “mom” recipe.  She emailed me a couple of recipes over the weekend she found.  So far she is the only one to actually take me up on the postings I have placed on the blog Facebook page; asking people to send me recipes and I will make them post them.  It was sent at a perfect time because we had a little taste of summer this past weekend in NYC.  It was really hot on Sunday (about 90° F) and the last thing I wanted to do was cook.  I was going grocery shopping for the week anyway, so I decided I would buy the ingredients for this salad and have it for dinner with a fresh loaf of bread. The only thing I couldn’t find was the mustard seeds so I decided to leave that step out.  I really enjoyed eating this salad; it was refreshing and delicious.  The  next time I make this salad I am going to add more ginger to counter-balance the acidity of the lemon juice.

Ingredients

  • 1 tbs ginger paste (I used minced ginger)
  • juice of lemon
  • coarse salt to taste
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper (opt)
  • 2 (14 oz cans) black-eyed peas drained and rinsed
  • 3 Roma tomatoes diced
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped red onion
  • 1/4 cup cilantro
  • 2 tbs olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp mustard seeds (opt)

Whisk together ginger, lemon juice, salt, cumin, and cayenne pepper. Set aside.

Drain and rinse beans with cold water.

Finely chop red onion.

Dice the three Roma tomatoes.

Chop cilantro.

Add beans, onion, tomatoes, cilantro and the lemon juice mixture to a large bowl and throughly mix all together.

Optional step

I couldn’t find the mustard seeds so I didn’t do this step, but if you can find them here is what you do.  Heat a skillet over high and add oil. Once oil is heated, add the mustard seeds and cover with a screen. When the seeds are finished popping pour over the salad.

Allow flavors to develop for at least 30 minutes. Salad can be served cold or at room temperature.

2 responses »

  1. this looks amazing!

    when i see them on fb, i really enjoy taking a glance at your posts on here. they look delicious! i’m trying this one!

    keep up the good work!

  2. Pingback: Miso-Ginger Meatballs with Spicy Peanut Dipping Sauce « Big Apple Bites

Leave a Reply

