Turkey Meatloaf

Standard

Served with bulgur pilaf.

Meatloaf is one of the most comforting foods to eat.  I remember growing up that I didn’t really like meatloaf and I would dread the dinners that we had with it and mashed potatoes. I remember my dad trying to pass off a meatloaf sandwich to take to  school for lunch the next day and me begrudgingly refusing. As I got older I actually began to love meatloaf (I still am not a fan of mashed potatoes) and this was my first attempt to make it.  Traditionally meatloaf is made with ground beef, but I chose ground turkey for this recipe because it is healthier. The ingredients I used in this loaf was to try to create the flavors of a Thanksgiving turkey without having to roast a whole turkey in the oven for 4 hours.

Please keep in mind this is recipe is a foundation for meatloaf and you should feel free to use whatever you have in your kitchen; for example I had half of a red onion in the fridge and I used that instead of a yellow onion.  Add bacon or sausage to the loaf to give it more flavor or use BBQ sauce as a glaze; the possibilities are endless.

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 lbs ground turkey (use ground chicken or beef if you choose)
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 2 tbs ketchup
  • 1 tbs Worcestershire sauce
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 2-3 sprigs fresh rosemary, off the stem and chopped
  • 2 tbs ground sage
  • 1 cup bread crumbs
  • 1/2 cup crumbled goat cheese
  • salt and pepper to taste

Preheat the oven to 350°F. Lightly grease a 9 x 5-inch loaf pan.

Combine all the ingredients in a large bowl.

Knead the mixture with your hands until well blended.

Fill the loaf pan with the meat mixture and mound the top to make it look like a loaf.

Bake until the meat loaf is firm to the touch and has shrunk from the sides of the pan; about 1 to 1 1/4 hours.

2 responses »

  1. Great idea! I try to present recipes on here as ideas and I would like people that read them to change them to their liking or follow them if they wish.

Leave a Reply

