Bulgur or Rice Pilaf

Standard

I grew up eating my mom’s rice pilaf.  We always had it at dinner and we even would eat it with our Thanksgiving dinner instead of having mashed potatoes.  The few times that I have made Thanksgiving dinner since I have lived on my own I have made rice pilaf.

In the semi-homemade post I mentioned that my mom has been telling me that she has been making bulgur pilaf for her and my dad and they actually like it better than with rice.  I decided to try it since I had the ingredients from the last time I made rice pilaf and I had the bulgur from the last time I made tabbouleh. I have to agree with my parents, I like this better than the rice.  The bulgur gives a nice flavor and knowing that it is healthier makes it more enjoyable to eat.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup bulgur (or extra long grain rice)
  • 1 cup vermicelli noodles (I buy the Manischewitz extra fine noodles)
  • 1 can chicken broth
  • 1/2 stick butter

Melt the butter with the noodles in a sauce pan over medium heat.

Brown the noodles until the butter is about to burn.

Add bulgur (or rice) and stir-fry until the bulgar/noodle mixture becomes bubbly/foamy.

Add chicken broth.

Bring broth to a boil; reduce heat to low and cover for 15-20 minutes and then turn off heat.

Acts as a great side dish for poultry or fish.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Semi-Homemade Dinner « Big Apple Bites

  2. Pingback: Ginger Marmalade Chicken « Big Apple Bites

Leave a Reply

