Corn Chowder

Standard

I think this will be my last soup posting for a while since spring is right around the corner.  This is a hearty soup that is best when its a cold day outside and you want to warm up. This soup is also a meal within itself because of the thick and creamy base to it.  I originally found this recipe online but I tweaked it to how I wanted the soup to taste.  When I was making this soup I ran into a couple problems. First, I forgot to buy potatoes (a key ingredient to make the soup thicker and creamier).  The second problem was that I originally added too much salt.  My solutions to these problems were that I added a little bit of flour to the chicken stock to make the soup thicker and I added about a cup and a half of water to dilute the salt.  The recipe below is the correct version with out the mistakes I made.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup celery, chopped
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 large potatoes, diced
  • 6 ears of fresh corn or 1 package of frozen corn
  • 1 package of regular or turkey bacon
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 2 cups light cream
  • 1 qt chicken stock
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • olive oil
  • 4 tbsp fresh or dried thyme
  • salt and pepper to taste

I used turkey bacon and cooked it in the microwave to save time and clean up.  I just wanted the bacon taste without all the fat so that is why I used turkey bacon. If you are using fresh corn on the cob, cut it off the cobs before you start preparing the soup since it takes time.  I had to use frozen corn because fresh corn is not in season.  Canned corn isn’t very good to use because it’s not fresh and it tends to have the taste of the can.

Heat butter and olive oil in soup pot over medium heat. Add celery, onion, garlic, thyme, salt and pepper and cook until vegetables become soft and translucent; about 10 minutes.

Dust the vegetables with flour and stir to coat everything well.

Pour in chicken stock and bring to a boil.

Add cream and potatoes. At this step I added more flour since I didn't have potatoes.

Bring to a boil and boil hard for about 8 minutes, until the potatoes break down. This will help to thicken soup and give it a good texture.

Add corn and bacon, season with a little bit of salt and pepper and simmer until corn is soft; about 10-12 minutes.

Turn off heat and ladle the soup into bowls.

Leave a Reply

