Asparagus and Potato Soup

Standard

Asparagus and potatoes are great as side dishes, but they are also delicious made into a creamy soup.  This soup is also healthy since it is only 133 calories per serving (most of those calories come from the potatoes).  I stumbled upon this recipe in the recipe book my mom made for me.  I have never made this before but I was in the mood for soup and I wanted to try something new.  The end results surprised me and the soup had a really nice flavor and was also very hearty.

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 lbs asparagus, trimmed
  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 1 large onion, coarsely chopped
  • 1 large shallot, chopped
  • 1 lb potatoes, peeled and cut (use any type of potato you prefer; I used Yukon Gold)
  • 1 qt chicken stock
  • 1/2 cup fresh tarragon, leaves only (I had dried in the pantry so I used that)
  • salt and pepper to taste

Cut trimmed asparagus spears into 1 inch pieces.

In a soup pot, heat olive oil over medium-high heat. Add the onion and shallot and cook until onion becomes translucent; about 5 minutes.

Add chicken broth and potatoes and increase the heat to bring mixture to a boil. Lower heat and simmer until the potatoes are tender; roughly 15 minutes.

Add asparagus and cook until tender, about 10 minutes. Stir in tarragon.

With a hand blender, purée mixture until smooth and creamy. Season with salt and pepper. I added grated Parmesan cheese as a garnish.

One response »

  1. This looks GOOD!!!!! I’m going to try to get my girlfriend to make it for me! Thanks for the tip! Love the pics on your site, it helps to see how it is supposed to turn out! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

