Amazing Guacamole

Standard

I was grocery shopping for the week on Superbowl Sunday at Whole Foods and I noticed they had a sale on avocados for $1 each.  I felt like this was the deal of the century since avocados usually sell for about $1.99-$2.99 each and I couldn’t pass this up!  I ended up putting three in my shopping cart and decided that I would turn them into guacamole once I got home.

In my opinion there isn’t just ONE recipe for guacamole.  Everyone that I know that makes guacamole has their own special recipe.  I have seen a recipe, which I think a friend of mine posted on Facebook, that added a little bit of curry powder to the mix.  Some folks like their guacamole chunky but I prefer it to be smooth and creamy and I purée it using my hand blender. This is the way I have made it for some time and it’s open to interpretation.

Ingredients

  • 3 ripe avocados
  • 1/2 medium to large onion (yellow, white, red, Vidalia, it really doesn’t matter), chopped
  • 1 small fresh jalapeño, chopped
  • 2-3 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 1-2 cups of chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1 medium tomato, chopped
  • the juice of one lime
  • salt and pepper for taste

Add chopped onion, jalapeño, garlic and a little salt and pepper to a large bowl and smash with a fork to get the juices out of the chopped vegetables.

Add peeled and pitted avocados to the bowl.

Chop about 2 cups of fresh cilantro.

Add chopped cilantro to the bowl. With a hand blender ( a fork or potato masher will work if you don't own one) blend avocado mixture until smooth and creamy.

Chop tomatoes into nice sized chunks.

Stir in tomatoes after avocado mixture is smooth.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Birthday Party « Big Apple Bites

Leave a Reply

