Homemade Granola Bars

Standard

I Google searched “homemade granola bars” and many links came up for it.  I looked at about five or six and I noticed that all the recipes are about the same; just a slight difference on the ingredients. One thing I learned is that you need oats, nuts, dried fruit, honey, brown sugar, and a little butter. The other thing I learned is that you don’t really need to follow the recipe exactly and you can add and omit any of the fruit and nuts as you wish.

After I read the recipes, I wrote down the similarities and made up my own recipe with the nuts and fruits that I like. I headed to my favorite Whole Foods and bought all the ingredients in the bulk section (the store I frequent has a bulk section in which you can pick the amount of dry goods you want, put it in a plastic bag and you weigh it yourself).

Ingredients

  • 2 cups oatmeal
  • 1-2 cups nuts (I used raw almonds and raw cashews)
  • 1 cup shredded coconut, loosely packed
  • 1/2 cup toasted wheat germ or flax seed
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin seeds
  • 3 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 2/3 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup light brown sugar, lightly packed
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1-2 cups dried fruit (I used chopped pitted dates, chopped apricots, cranberries, and raisins)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Toss oatmeal, nuts, coconut, pumpkin seeds and flax seeds in a baking dish and bake for 10-12 minutes. Stir occasionally until lightly browned. Remove from oven and reduce temperature to 300 degrees.

Place butter, honey, brown sugar, vanilla, and salt in a small saucepan and bring to a boil over medium heat. Cook and stir for a minute, then pour over the toasted oatmeal mixture. Add the dried fruit and stir well.

With a piece of parchment or wax paper press the mixture evenly into the baking pan. Press down hard so the mixture stays together while baking.

Bake for 20-25 minutes, until light golden brown.

Cool for at least 2 to 3 hours before cutting into squares.

Leave a Reply

