Chicken with Apricots and Sauteed Spinach

Standard

This dish comes from the recipe book my mom gave me a couple years ago.  She must have found it in a newspaper because that is what the photocopy I have looks like.  I have modified this recipe a little bit to reflect flavors I like to eat.  The recipe calls to roll the chicken in bread crumbs but I think next time I make it I am going to not use bread crumbs.  I feel that the taste of the bread crumbs over-powers the taste of the dish.   The original recipe calls for canned apricots but I have used dried apricots in this version.  I have also added curry powder and grape tomatoes.

Ingredients

  • olive oil
  • 1 1/2 lbs of chicken breast (skinless and boneless)
  • 1 cup panko bread crumbs (optional)
  • 1/2 lb dried apricots
  • 1 package of fresh spinach
  • 1 cup cherry or grape tomatoes
  • the juice of one lemon
  • 2 tbs curry powder
  • salt
  • pepper

Salt and pepper the chicken and then roll in bread crumbs or shake them in a plastic bag. Skip this step if you omit the bread crumbs.

In a large skillet cook chicken on each side over medium heat for about 2-5 minutes or until browned. Remove from pan and cut into pieces.

Add cut chicken back to the pan along with apricots, tomatoes, curry powder, salt, pepper, and 1/2 cup of water. Simmer on medium heat until tomatoes are broken down and liquid is reduced.

Saute the spinach with a little olive oil over medium heat for 3 minutes or until spinach is slightly wilted.

Add sauteed spinach and lemon juice to chicken mixture. Serve over rice, couscous, or quinoa.

Leave a Reply

