Curry and Ginger Butternut Squash Soup

Standard

This recipe is entirely one that I have made up.  Two years ago I received a Cuisinart Hand Blender for Xmas and it’s probably my favorite kitchen utensil I own.  I use it a lot to make soups and other things that need to be blended.  Last winter I had a minor obsession with curry and ginger and I thought it would be a good idea to combine the flavors in a hearty soup like butternut squash soup.   Since I was making a lot of soups in the winter I decided to put together the basic ingredients like chicken stock and seasoning and add the squash.

This soup is very tasty and comes out thick and creamy like a bisque without using any dairy. Curry powder can be found in most stores in the spice aisle. I use minced ginger that I buy in a jar that I find in the Asian food aisle at Whole Foods; if you can’t find this then fresh ginger works (and is probably better).  I like the jar because I use the ginger for other recipes and I also add a couple teaspoons to protein smoothies that I make when I come home from the gym.  If you don’t like the taste of ginger and/or curry they can be easily removed and the soup will still taste great.  The curry and ginger are accent flavors to the soup and in my opinion enhance the flavor of the squash.

Ingredients

  • 1 large butternut squash (peeled, seeded, and chopped)

  • 1 large onion chopped
  • 1 cup (3-4 stalks) celery chopped
  • 1 cup (3-4) carrots chopped
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 2 tbs unsalted butter
  • 2 tbs olive oil
  • 1 tbs salt
  • 1.5 tbs pepper
  • 2 tbs minced ginger
  • 2 tbs curry powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 qt chicken stock (or water for vegetarian soup)

Fill a stockpot with the chopped onion, celery, carrots, garlic, ginger, olive oil, butter and salt & pepper. Saute ingredients for about 10 minutes or until vegetables are soft.

Add the chicken stock or water and squash to the pot along with the curry, cinnamon, and nutmeg. Bring to a boil and reduce heat to medium/low. Cover.

Simmer and stir occasionally for 30 minutes or until squash becomes tender.

Turn off heat. With a hand blender, pulverize the mixture until it becomes pureed; smooth and creamy. Serve hot.

Serves 6 to 8.

Leave a Reply

