Black Bean and Feta Salad

Standard

This is another dish that is Mediterranean inspired.  I know it seems like I am just posting recipes about Mediterranean food but I promise I will be posting more recipes that leave the feta cheese and mint in the fridge.  It’s just that I have photos of these items already saved on iPhoto so I am deciding to post them first. With the postings I already have including this one, you the reader can plan to have a dinner party that is Mediterranean themed. I am already working on another post that has flavors of the Far East and India.

Alright, back to this salad;  this is another mom recipe.  A couple years ago my mom put together a recipe book for me which includes all the things that she made for us growing up.  She photo-copied the recipes and put them in a three-ringed binder divided by what type of dish it is (i.e. appitizers, salads, desserts, etc.).

I don’t know where she got this recipe.  On my photo copy it looks as though its written on a half piece of yellow legal paper complete with oil and food stains. The only exact measurement in this salad is the beans.  Everything else is by eye and/or taste.  Of course I am going to give measurements to the ingredients, but once you make this salad more than once you will learn to know what type of flavors you want to shine.  If you are making this salad for a lot of people, you can always more beans just make sure you add more of the other ingredients; again this salad doesn’t have to be exact just use your judgement. This salad is best served after at least a few hours of making it which will give enough time for all the flavors to marinade together (it’s really delicious the next day).

Ingredients

  • 2 (15 oz) cans of black beans (drain and rinse)
  • 3/4 cup feta cheese
  • 1/3 minced red onion (if you like onion mince half of one but no more since red onion has a strong taste and will over power)
  • 1/3 cup fresh mint chopped (I always add more because I love the flavor of mint)
  • 1/2 or 1 whole fresh lemon juice (this all depends on how much mint and onion you use)
  • 3 tbs olive oil (not too much because you don’t want the salad too oily; the olive oil is more to bind the flavors)
  • salt and pepper to taste

After you rinse the beans in cold water, add them to a medium to large sized bowl. Add the onions, feta cheese and mint.  Squeeze the lemon juice right into the bowl   Next, add the oil and salt and pepper and mix up with a large spoon.  Chill in the fridge for a couple hours before serving.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

