Mediterranean inspired chicken and artichoke dish

Standard

I received this recipe via email from my mom in April 2009.  I don’t remember where she said she found it but I have made it many times.  It is very low in calories and fat and uses very simple and inexpensive ingredients and has flavors reminiscent of food from the Mediterranean region.  I think that is why I love it so much because it tastes like food I grew up with (my mom’s family is Armenian and my dad is Macedonian).


Here is what you need

  • 4 boneless and skin-less chicken breasts
  • 2 cans of artichoke hearts (original recipe called for one, but I like to add more artichoke)
  • 1 can of chicken broth
  • the juice of one lemon
  • 2 tablespoons of fresh mint (I love the taste of mint and lemon together, so I always add more; maybe about 1/2 cup chopped; see above photo)

Pound the chicken breasts on both sides and salt & pepper them. Add them to a pan with olive oil and cook on each side for 10 minutes. Remove from pan.

Add artichokes to the pan and stir fry until they a little bit brown.

Add the chicken broth and reduce the liquid by half.

Add the lemon juice, chopped mint and chicken to the pan and cook for about 5 to 10 more minutes.

Once all the ingredients have cooked together, serve over rice, couscous, or as you see below I chose quinoa.  The recipe also calls for feta cheese sprinkled over the top, but I always omit that because I feel that the feta cheese would over power the taste of the dish.

4 responses »

  1. Love it. I want the Mediterranean Chicken & Artichoke dish It looks incredible. I like that you take the reader through the steps. Nice going. Keep it up. I look forward to more entries.

  2. how fabulous! 🙂

    i’d love to watch your blog regularly but wish you had a TWITTER account — your LINKS thru twitter will not only be easy to spot, but be fastest and easiest to reach your “followers.”

    thanks,
    ariela

  3. Pingback: One Year Anniversary « Big Apple Bites

Leave a Reply

